Enter…The Plan

Standard

I’ve decided that actually putting my plan into writing is the way to go.  Too often, flying by the seat of my pants is what leads to Burrito Boyz for dinner instead of something that’s good for me (by the way, I did work out what a burrito is worth, point-wise.  Seventeen.  SEVENTEEN!)

Here goes nothing.  Or, as I’m calling it, Operation Stop Hating How I Look Every Day.

I’m planning on taking my favourite breakfast to work with me everyday – it’s 1 cup of mixed berries, 1/2 cup of Kashi’s Almond Flax cereal and 1/2 a cup of plain, fat-free, Greek yogurt.  It’s filling, easy and delicious.  Lunch these days is usually a big salad, topped with some kind of protein (usually hard-boiled eggs or chicken), an ounce of feta cheese and some oil and vinegar salad dressing.  I like it, it tastes good and for now, it’s easy.  I’m going to look at ways to spice up my lunch in the near future so that I don’t get bored. 

With that being said, I just have to figure out dinners.  I’ve remained really good about meal planning through my weight gain, but my downfall consistently becomes the weekend where I fall out of a routine and overeat.  I feel bad about overeating, which leads to my saying ‘screw it, bring on the pie’ and falling face first into a weekend binge.  No more.

Monday – Eating dinner at my girlfriend’s mom’s house.  She is making us a recipe she found in a magazine this month. 

Tuesday – Homemade Spinach Lasagna.  Not exactly summer fare, but I have friends staying the night mid-week and this will be a good way to send them with lunch on Thursday, lasagna makes lots of leftovers.

Wednesday – my weekly pub night.  I’ve decided for the next little while, I’ll be ordering the Buffalo Chicken Wrap with a side salad.  At 16 points for the sandwich, it’s not the greatest thing, but a pub menu is hard to order from and I’m eating lightly through the rest of the day.  A side salad is definitely better than fries!

Thursday – barbecued pork chops with grilled pineapple, quinoa and foil-packet brocoli.  Delicious and super summer-ey.

Friday – I’m going to a wedding.  I’m going to try to avoid the multi-courses and the sweets.  Wish me luck.  This is going to be the biggest challenge to staying on track this week and I’m both nervous and scared.  I want to rock this.  I’ve enlisted my girlfriend’s help with this one AND I agreed to drive in advance so that I can’t drink.  Drinking is a calorie suck, but more importantly, it usually ends up loosening up my chewin’ muscles and I overeat.  No good.  Wish me luck with this night.

Saturday – barbeque steak, baked potatoes and corn on the cob.  Homemade is the way to go – I will most likely only eat half the baked potato as I don’t really care for potatoes (I know, I’m a freak) unless they’re fried. 

Sunday I will meal plan for next week and post it.  I’m thinking I might try to post the recipe for my lasagna after I make it.  We’ll see.

That’s my week in a nutshell.  I hope I can make it work because quite frankly, I feel sick at the idea of getting any fatter.

What Do You Think?

